Elizabeth’s Last Read (A Poem)

 

frankenstein-web

 

Why weep for my passing,

instead, celebrate my manifestation,

and the envy of my life;

 

I came before you, and paved your way,

and would gladly become ashes once more,

to feel such love one more day.

 

You seen through my beast,

and opened my veins; letting

your love flood them ever so

much, relieved me of these chains.

 

I was but an empty corpse on steel,

like a doll with no substance;

waiting to be filled with love, to become real,

and live within this life bound to judgement.

 

Underneath this flesh, and scars,

is more than a heart that beats;

there is a soul that lives, and it

became within your reach.

 

I may have been built by hands,

and fashioned as a beast, but it’s the

contents of man, that shall be love’s feast.

 

Before my eyes were just eyes,

but after you, I can see; before

my heart was just a heart, but after

you, I feel its beat.

 

Before my body was just a corpse,

but now I love and bleed; before I wished to be human,

but after you; it is now, they wish to be me.

 

Signed,

Frankenstien

 

 

NOTE: Elizabeth was the name of Frankenstein’s bride; just thought I would reiterate that for those whom may be unaware.

 

 

 

3 responses to “Elizabeth’s Last Read (A Poem)

  1. very interesting. you may be writing about one man’s creation, but in the greater scheme of things, what you are really addressing is how people create/influence those around them. aren’t we all a product of someone’s (or many someone’s) creation? Great piece – I had to think on this one:)

  2. WB, this is wonderful. I especially liked this stanza:

    “You seen through my beast,

    and opened my veins; letting

    your love flood them ever so

    much, relieved me of these chains.”

Leave a Reply

